‘n huis om die huis te roep

We have a house!! It’s pretty darn gorgeous too!  It’s 2 bed, 2 garages, has a garden with a pool and probably the best view we could ever have hoped for.  It’s a little like a loft in NYC, with exposed brickwork and open plan living/dining area.  It also has bars on the windows and an electric fence for anyone worried about safety! 

View from the sofa

I can't wait to have a bath!!!

We decided on an area called Melville.  We were inspired to live here thanks to a blog that I have been reading avidly 2Summers.  Melville is one of the last areas in Jo’burg that is pedestrianised and has cafes, bars and boutiques along the street rather than in shopping malls.  It’s quirky, urban and cool and we really loved the sound of it.  I am SO looking forward to moving in

6 thoughts on “‘n huis om die huis te roep

  1. Hey Martina, this is the first time I’ve read your blog. It’s great. Sounds like we have a lot in common. And your place looks amazing! We should definitely meet up when you get to Jozi. And don’t panic about the visa issues — trust me, all will be well. I’ve been surviving on tourist visas for over a year .

    Also, you won’t be missing cool, crisp mornings in Joburg. We have lots of them!

    Oh, and thanks for linking to me 🙂

    • Hi Heather, thanks for having a read! I thought that it would be a great way to keep my friends and family informed, but I can already feel that it may spiral into something different – it’s so addictive already and I’m only 7 posts in!

      We should definitely have a coffee when I arrive – maybe some alcohol if I have been to sort out visa’s/phones/cars! 😉

  2. We should have the local blogger’s meet-up that Bing keeps talking about… Can’t believe you just started this blog, it is already amazing. Took me over a month to launch mine, what with internet and Telkom issues. Yes, it will be very addictive!

    • haha – I started it from home as I knew I would need a project over here, and it is such a great way to keep in touch with everyone back home. I do already feel it evolving from what I thought it would be though! I made sure that Rob sorted our internet as soon as we got here – I bought the Cell C dongle so it was instant. Telkom sounds exactly like BT back home, who own all of the phone lines for the internet connections but are an absolute pain in the butt. I couldn’t deal with that again!

    • ha – that’s a good one. I’m glad that you have mentally prepared me for Eskom. I have warned Rob about it.

      We should definitley have a blogger’s meet up, although I will feel a little like a fraud as I don’t feel like a real blogger yet!

Leave a Reply

