Food, Wine, Design Fair – Joburg

This weekend is the Food, Wine, Design Fair in Hyde Park.  It’s awesome!  It’s a boutique, outdoor market full to the brim of local designers, artisanal products, furniture crafters, wineries and micro-breweries.  I ate so much food whilst I was there I thought that I would pop!  I went to this stall that has venison stews served with homemade relishes, chutney and breads, and I had Impala, whilst Rob had Kudu.  It was delicious!  I also had some yummy calamari from Salvation Cafe, awesome cheese from Pepe Charlot, and the most delicious cakes and cookies from Chlo LoFine and Raw have a new ice cream which is the most delicious ice cream I have ever had, so obviously I pigged out on some of that too

The show ends on Sunday 27th November, so if you are in the area it is well worth popping in to see what it is all about.  If you buy tickets online in advance they are only R50, whilst they are R80 on the door.  You can’t use cash at the market – you must purchase coupons upon entry, or use your credit/debit card at participating stalls.  Make sure you get a few R100 worth as you will definitely spend it.  As most of the products are handmade, organic, artisanally crafted the price does reflect this.

There is an outdoor area where you can eat your yummy food or drink your wine/beers/cocktails.  It’s well worth a visit.  If you fancy buying me a present feel free to get me anything pictured, but these skulls are SO me!

3 thoughts on “Food, Wine, Design Fair – Joburg

Leave a Reply

